Readying for a trip

June 15, 2009 at 10:28 am (Travel) (, , , )

So I leave for Asia a week from today.  My dad will be coming to Eugene on Saturday, because he is going to fly with me (so I’m not on my own on the way to Tokyo).

I haven’t had a whole lot to say just recently, because my mental energy has mostly been devoted to getting ready for this trip.  I’m getting down to the wire here, but I think I’m doing okay as far as packing goes.  I dragged my suitcase out this weekend, and will start tossing anything I don’t need to use into it.  I’ve got a list for my suitcase and another for my carry on (and it’s a third again as long as the one for the suitcase, too).  I’m going to make sure that I can live out of my carry on for at least 48 hours, if I have to.

I need to go to JC Penney (for the third flipping time) tonight.  The swimsuit I own fits okay, but it’s not very comfortable, so I need to look for a new one.  I think I’m going to try to squeeze in one more Target trip, too.

I’m going to have to spend a week by myself when I get back, too.  The boyfriend is also going to (a different part of) Asia, but he won’t be home until a week after me.  I haven’t spent this long apart from him since I moved to Oregon, and I am not relishing the thought of having to do it now.

I’ve realized that I like the opportunity to travel.  I can actually put up with quite a lot.  But darn it, getting ready to go is really very stressful.  I end up trying to plan for every eventuality, and of course I can’t actually do that.  I get the feeling I’d be less stressed right now if I wasn’t going to be separated from the boyfriend while I’m there, though.  That just adds another layer of worry about him, aside from just plain missing him.

Even so, once I get on that plane, I’ll be able to relax…if only because there won’t be anything I can do about stuff I’ve forgotten (except deal with not having it for a couple of weeks or figure out where to buy it).  So here’s hoping Northwest makes it as easy as possible for us to sleep on the flight from Seattle to Tokyo, and that they don’t lose our luggage.  I’d really like to have my suitcase when I get to Hong Kong.

(And isn’t it funny that, in this day of overcrowded overstretched airline travel, I consider it a minor miracle when my checked luggage shows up at my destination at the same time I do.  I think the last time that happened was 2 years ago.)

2 Comments

  1. Kristan said,

    Maybe I’m too nonchalant, but I never really stress about trips or packing. I just make my list (usually in my head the night before I leave — yes, even for major int’l trips haha) and then pack. I figure if I need something that bad, I can always buy it when I get there, ’cause if people survive there, then I can too. 🙂

    That said, I think I’m abnormal and you’re being smart about it.

  2. Mary said,

    I stress mostly because my mom does. Traveling used to be easier, because she’d do all of the stressing for me. But ever since I really left home, I’m on my own for that.

    The only thing that really stresses me out is trying to come up with my “list of things I can’t live without for the duration of the trip.” It’s considerably longer for this trip than any other I’ve taken, and the last time I traveled internationally…I didn’t have anything but my carry on for the first 24 hours. I don’t worry so much when the trip is somewhere closer or of shorter duration.

    I’m not too worried about which clothes I’ll bring or that sort of thing, especially since the answer is basically “all of them.” What worries me are those little things that are very important, and easy to forget.

Leave a Reply

