Finished!

May 17, 2009 at 4:30 pm (About Me, Hobbies) (, , )

So, I finished planting all of my new plants, and arranged them on my patio in a way that I hope will give them all enough sun (or enough shade, as the case may be).  But gardening is very tiring work!

Anyway, I put my spider plant in a new pot:

It looks a little sad, because Im a bad houseplant mommy.

It looks a little sad, because I'm a bad houseplant mommy.

It’s a rather lovely little pot, that I even got on sale!  I’m hoping the gravel I put in the bottom will keep it draining well.

And here is a picture of my “work in progress” that I took this afternoon before getting started:

Its too bad I dont get more of that lovely sunlight on my patio!

It's too bad I don't get more of that lovely sunlight on my patio!

It prominently features my lovely little nandina (in the bronze pot).  The red leaves at the top are the new growth.  I’ll have to figure out if this plant requires pruning before the summer is over.

And here, we have a lovely little jumble of plants waiting to be put into containers:

Such nice colors, arent they?

Such nice colors, aren't they?

Those are impatients (the white/pink and the purple flowers), lobelia (the blue flowers), and diascia (the trailing pink flowers).

And I also have some fuchsia hybrids and a plant that I couldn’t for the life of me identify (it lost it’s little label):

This is only about half the planter.

This is only about half the planter.

I’ve also got a shrub that’s called Hebe.  It’ll eventually have pink flowers (although I have no idea if it has bloomed already or not this year), but for now it’s just rather leafy:

Its pretty small right now, but Im hoping it will get bigger soon.

It's pretty small right now, but I'm hoping it will get bigger soon.

And finally, I have some lovely gerbera daisies that I’m really hoping don’t die on me.  They’re a bit of a risk, since they can be fussy, but they sure are pretty:

Here is my orange-ish one...

Here is my orange-ish one...

...and my red one.

...and my red one.

So, there we have it!  I’ll leave you with a shot of my cute little patio garden:

Also included is my extra bag of soil - I was so close to guessing the right amount!

Also included is my extra bag of soil - I was so close to guessing the right amount!

4 Comments

  1. Kristan said,

    Gerber daisies are so pretty! But their stalks are not all that strong… 😦 We get them for the front desk at work sometimes and they almost never stand up through the whole week.

  2. Mary said,

    Yeah, one of the red flowers snapped off while I was getting these plants home/planted.

    On the other hand, the flowers that are left are standing up just fine. I think they probably do better with that before they’re cut (and daisies in general get kinda droopy more quickly than other flowers).

    I am hoping I’m successful with these. They are theoretically perennials, but they might not be able to make it through the winter here. I’m kind of hoping I can just bring them inside when it’s really cold, and see if I can’t keep them alive. But, I’m getting a bit ahead of myself, because I have to keep them alive all summer first. 🙂

  3. Elizabeth said,

    Here is a florist tip for Gerber Daisies–find a plastic straw that is bigger than the stem and put the stem in the straw and then put all that into the vase. My boss had a bunch of Gerber daisies that laster for over a week in her vase, but they had this light green straw over each stem. Don’t know where you get those fat green straws, but I seem to remember fat red straws in some fast food restaurant or another. Keep your eyes open for some.

  4. Kristan said,

    I wonder if they were bubble tea straws… haha! That’s a pretty smart idea, though.

Leave a Reply

