You’ve gotta try this

February 16, 2009 at 6:18 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

So as I type this entry, I’m waiting for the honey on my face to work its magic.

I’m quite sure you think I’m crazy.  Who voluntarily puts sticky, sweet substances on their face, after all?  But I’m not kidding, and I’m not crazy (at least, I don’t think I am).

I was looking for remedies for my dry, flaky winter skin earlier.  I only wash my face once each day, and use body lotion on it, and it’s still sometimes dry and flaky.  So while I was poking around, looking for the best lotion to moisturize my face without leaving a funky residue or causing pimples, I found some natural remedy suggestions.

To exfoliate – make a paste of baking soda and water, massage it in, and rinse off.  Having just done this a minute ago, I can tell you it’s fantastic.  I got maybe a tablespoon or two of baking soda (enough to comfortably fill the palm of my hand) and added enough warm water to make a goopy but spreadable substance.  And do you know how much cheaper that is than the exfoliating products sold at the drugstore?

I think that honey is another exfoliant?  But either way, it’s supposed to help with skin smoothness.  You put it on your face, leave it for 15 minutes, and then pat it off with a wash cloth and warm water.  I used maybe a quarter size amount of honey for this.

To moisturize – put oil on your face.  No really, do it.  As a treatment, you rub it in, leave for 15 minutes, and pat off with a damp wash cloth.  Extra Virgin Olive Oil is one that’s suggested (and currently, the only one I’ve got on hand).  Sweet Almond oil or Jojoba oil are also recommended.  That’s next on the docket for tonight.

If you want to be really crazy, you can do something that’s called the Oil Cleansing Method.  If you google that exact phrase, there are several websites that explain the process and the reasoning.  But the short of it is that you mix together castor oil and another oil like extra virgin olive oil (or any other oil known for it’s moisture and nutrients).  For dry skin, the suggestion is something like 10% or 20% castor oil, with the rest the olive oil.  You increase the castor oil if your skin is more oily.

So basically, castor oil can get deep into your pores because of its molecular weight.  And, since the only thing oil is truly soluble in is, surprise, other oils, this helps get rid of things like blackheads, dead skin, dirt, etc.  You mix it with another oil to thin it out some, and to moisturize.  Apparently, straight castor oil can actually leave your skin dry.

The method is that you massage this mixture into your face, and then apply steam (which can be as simple as putting a washcloth wet with hot water on your face until it cools).  Then you wipe it off, making sure to remove all the oil.  If your skin is dry after, you can rub a tiny bit of oil into your skin as a moisturizer, as long as you make sure you don’t leave any on the surface.

So I’m totally trying that as soon as I can track down some castor oil.  I think they still sell it in grocery stores and drugstores, since I think it’s still sometimes used as a mild laxative.  I think I may also want to buy some jojoba to use with it, because I like that stuff just in general (and I don’t really care for the smell of olive oil).

So feel free to think I’m crazy, but I’ll still have smooth, non-flaky, non-dry skin. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Kristan said,

    Haha, I won’t necessarily think you’re crazy, just more patient than I am. And I guess with smoother, softer skin? 😛

  2. Mary said,

    Well, given that I did all of this while making dinner, I don’t know that patience has much to do with it.

    But yeah, one baking soda scrub, honey mask, olive oil mask, body lotion, shower (which involved getting my face wet but nothing else this morning), and more lotion with sunscreen later…damn straight my skin is smooth and soft. 🙂

    I haven’t managed skin this smooth, soft, and clean feeling during the winter ever before. I highly recommend at least the baking soda scrub. 🙂 That one takes less time than washing your face.

Leave a Reply

