First Lady Fashion

January 21, 2009 at 6:27 am (Fashion, Politics) (, )

So I know that yesterday was a momentous day, etc. etc.  Plenty of other people are writing about it on the internet, so I don’t think I’m going to bother.  But one thing I did want to comment on was Michelle Obama and her clothing.

I’ll start by saying that I don’t think everything she’s ever worn is a great outfit.  I think some are definitely better than others.  When she gets it right, she usually ends up looking fabulous.  Even when she gets it wrong, she never looks hideous.

I can also see, at least kind of, what she’s trying to do with the clothing she chooses to wear.  She seems to be pretty supportive of relatively young, new designers (based on previous choices), which I think is great.  I mean, if your job requires that you spend a lot of money on clothing, you may as well do something different, right?

And that’s the other thing.  It seems fairly obvious that she’s trying to push the limits of the usual Washington fashions.  That is necessarily going to involve some misses, as some people think both of her inaugural outfits were.

But really, compare what Michelle Obama wore yesterday to what other First Ladies have worn to inaugurals.  I really thought that Michelle looked very nice, while managing to move away from the norm.  Even better, she moved just far enough away from it that it was obvious she was pushing the envelope, but not so far away that she was completely out of line with what most people would think is appropriate.

Her inaugural gown didn’t photograph especially well, but if you look at her in videos, it shows much better.  I also really liked the fact that she didn’t wear a suit and pearls during the day.  I love pearls, but they are the easy (and sometimes overdone) choice.

Anyway, I just hope that people don’t spend the next four (or eight) years ripping on Michelle’s choice of clothing.  It’s one of those things where, if she was completely fashion unaware, they’d leave her alone.  But as soon as she tries to actually pay attention to it, everyone’s a critic.  Very few people seem to want to give her props for trying to visually assist the presidency’s transition into a new administration, and (dare I say it) into this century.

2 Comments

  1. Kristan said,

    Ironically I JUST posted about this:

    http://jbu.phuzzymath.net/2009/01/21/inauguration-fashion/

    And actually if you check out mrs-o.org, it’s FULL of people who support her fashion (and document it obsessively). It’s quite fun!

    Haha, I was expecting something rather more political from you, but this is fun too. 🙂

  2. Mary said,

    I was mostly responding to an article I happened to see in the New York Post. The fashion editor who wrote it didn’t think her inaugural day clothing was all that great, and I didn’t agree.

    My opinions about fashion are, amazingly enough, just as decided as my opinions about politics. The only real difference is that I pay more attention to politics than I do to high fashion.

    And, you know, I can’t be predictable all the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

