A bit of an experiment (and a bit about me)

January 12, 2009 at 6:31 pm (About Me) ()

So there’s a saying I always heard my mom say when I was growing up.  “You can take the girl out of Texas, but you can’t take the Texas out of the girl.”  My parents moved to California right after she was in college, but moved back to Texas just a few years later.  They’ve lived there ever since, but my mom is always mentally kicking herself for leaving California.  When I asked her why she moved back, her answer was sometimes that particular saying.

I always thought it was kind of a funny thing to say, but I think I get it now.  I moved to Oregon about a year and a half ago.  I don’t regret it for a minute, but damn, do I want to move back to Texas.  I miss it so much it hurts sometimes.  I miss it especially when I’m looking for a job.  The longer I’m out of the state, the more I cling to the pieces of it that I carry around with me.

So, the tagline for this blog is referring to the fact that you can pry my Texas out of my cold, dead fingers, thank you very much.  Part of the reason I cling so hard to it is because I miss it, but another really big part of it is that I just always feel the slightest bit out of place here on the west coast.  There are plenty of things to like about Oregon, but every so often, I take a small mental step back and think, this place is crazy.  I mean, Texas is pretty crazy, too, but it’s my crazy!

So anyway, I’ve used other blogging software for years, but I’m sort of thinking about making something of a clean break.  Or cleanish, anyway.  I think it might end up being a nice change for me to have a blog that’s really not associated with any others, and that has something of a theme beyond “random stuff I felt like posting today.”  There’s certainly a time and a place for that, but I think I might ultimately appreciate a record of my life in Oregon…and all the other places I’m likely to live before I can get back to my own personal Holy Grail.

Permalink 2 Comments